Egress Window onto lean-to roof

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've been desperately searching for the answer to this and coming up short!! Does anyone know if an egress/escape window can lead onto a lean-to roof, of which you would need to then walk along about 3-4 metres over the garage to then be rescued in the event of a fire?

We are looking at a loft conversion and really don't want to have to install all fire doors etc, but there will be a window on the landing of the staircase coming down from loft to first floor level - so I was wondering if we created a protected lobby around the staircase, could this window be used in the event of a fire to escape. It is only 4m above ground level so it would complies in that respect, and the opening size etc would comply......but you'd have to walk along the roof to get to the ground level. Does anyone please know if this would pass building regs??

Thank you!! Desperate in Devon!! Emma

Sponsored Links
I am no expert but I doubt it. 4M is actually quite high as a fall.
could a horizontal metal catwalk type arrangement possibly suit this situation?

Hi! Thank you for your response - the 4m height is the inner floor level, not the roof level. To comply with building regs, an egress window has to be a maximum 4.5m from the outside floor level to enable the fire brigade to get a ladder to you! So it's within the recommended distance. And unfortunately a metal catwalk type thing would look awful and not something I would be happy with attached to my house. But thank you for your suggestion :)