Electric warm air heating system any engineers in the house?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I think the fan is on the way out in my electric warm air heating system. Some times it fails to spin up and when it does its very slow.

Does anyone know if the fan is an easy replacement? The system is most likely the original from when the house was built (circa 1970) so even if its easy to replace I guess I may not be able to source one.

Also does anyone know if their easy to strip down and check the relays etc for the fan control system? I can't imagine there is much inside the huge box besides some brick, heating element, thermostat and some relays.

Sponsored Links
I've not worked on warm air systems since I was an apprentice, but the ones I worked on were pretty straight forward.

Any chance of a couple of pictures? The motor may be ok, and just in need of a service and a clean. If not I would think you should be able to source a motor, or have the existing one rewound.

if it's that old it might be time for a new replacement..

the newer ones would be much more efficient i should think by now??

Neighbour has a similar system about the same age that is still going strong. Good thing about it is that it can blow cold air in the summer.

Sponsored Links
There is usually no need to replace the fan and the cowel, it is often just the motor which needs a bit of TLC :LOL:

you're going on the asumption that the fan and motor are seperate when in most small blowers, the motor is part of the fan and acts as it's spindle...

we use them all the time at work..

to clarify, what are we betting on?

that the OP's heating has a seperate motor to the fan and that it's belt driven?

or that blower fans have the motors built in?

if it's the latter you need only look at the link i posted.. the motor can clearly be seen in the center of the fan blades..