Evohome and Smartfit zone valve

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm looking to fit Evohome in my house hopefully in time for next winter. Only problem is that I have a Smartzone valve fitted to the central heating. The hot water is controlled via a V4043 2 port valve which is connected via the pump output of the Smartzone box. I have no idea why it's been done this way I've never used Smartzone.

I'm an electrician and have wired loads of heating systems in my time, so fitting and setting up the Evohome will not be a problem for me. My question is would it be OK to manually open the Smartfit valve and leave it open, then connect the central heating relay box straight to the boiler so that if a zone calls for heat it fires up the boiler and heats that zone? The other option is to replace the Smartfit valve with a V4043.

Basically i need to know if there would be any issues with there being no zone valve on the central heating, obviously no issue with the hot water side as I can control that via the existing 2 port valve.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
If you do away with the zone valve for the heating, the radiators will get hot every time your hot water cylinder heats, which will mean you'll have the radiators on in the Summer. Why don't you want to use it? If you'd rather have a conventional Honeywell valve, I'm sure there are several guys on here who would happily take your SmartZone off you - they're proving rather difficult to obtain at the moment.

The radiators wouldn't get hot in the summer because I would have an Evohome trv on every radiator. The Smartfit valves are not compatible with the Evohome system, that's why I can't use it.