Exercising permitted development rights following planning permission.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This leads on from a previous thread.

In a nutshell I've put in to extend a bungalow and fit both front and rear dormers. I've been advise by the LPA that the development requires planning consent and that the rear dormer would most likely be refused. However, they also said if it wasn't for other parts of the development requiring planning the rear dormer could be installed under permitted development.

So what I want to know is could I fit the rear dormer anyway under permitted development once the planning permission was granted for the other work?

Sponsored Links
Doubt it, the consent would be on the basis of the submitted plans, if they change you are not implementing the permission as granted. But I'm no expert, and would it not be wise to seek the views of the local council before embarking on what could be very expensive enforced demolition if things go wrong.

Blup

I think my view would be contrary to that of Blup - but we would need more details of the planning application / proposal.

Is the only reason they are refusing the application the rear dormer? also what "other work" are you going to be granted permission for?

You need to be making sure you aren't attaching to other parts of the approved development with your permitted rear dormer and also that you are not exceeding the total volume on the increase of the roofspace, considering all the other works and your permitted development dormer combined.

If so, you should be fine getting approval and then building it, or building it first and then getting approval (although I would probably go with the former and not the latter)

PD rights remain unless removed.

Work can be done under PD as long as you keep to the criteria - in this case you can add a rear dormer to an unaltered existing roof, but you could not add it to a new extension roof.