Extending ring mains, cable sizes,voltage drops etc

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This is a bit of a theoretical one - I've been reading around, picking bits of info here and there and have been wondering about the advice on extending ring mains?

Most rings are in 2.5 mm cable which is rated at 32A (?) - but is this not in open air. Hence rating drops if cable is enclosed - and drops significantly. There can be very few installations where cables aren't buried in walls etc so the cable could be rated as low as 20 A or lower - which isn't a lot on 1 ring! Then someone extends the ring! I have a vague idea of the concepts of voltage drops etc and the recommended maximum cable lengths - it doesn't take much to have 50 m of cable on a ring.

I'm not an expert but it strikes me that extending a ring in this case must be a BAD THING - and in liklihood will be in most situations?

Any thoughts/explanations on this appreciated - not because I'm going to extend a ring ( I'm not sure I want to take that chance on my single ring supply my house!) - it has convinced me the best way forward is to put in extra circuits! I'd just like to know what the experts opinions etc are on this.

Thanks again
Towman

Sponsored Links
Just to start the ball rolling, as I'm sure the more learned will explain in greater detail.

With a ring the load share between both halves of the ring. A 32a ring is can supply up to 100 sq m of floor space (OSG pg 151 (brown edition)). This is for a domestic location and takes into account the correction factors and diversity.

One of those areas that is open to much debate. (As a theoretical question 2.5mm T&E using method 1 can carry up to 27Amps - so with the load split between both parts of a ring? But if through damage etc the ring becomes a radial?)

Just my mussings :eek: