Extending ring main with 1.5mm cable

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, i'd like some advice on whether the following is correct or should I be worried! I'm having my kitchen refitted and this requires several new sockets. The fitter has extended the existing ring main (crimped connections - so OK there). However he is using 1.5mm cable rather than 2.5mm (the existing ring main is 2.5mm). Supply is protected by 32A type B MCB / RCD as you'd expect. A 'part P' sparky has already certified part of it- so I guess he is happy with it - the rest is to be done today and made live. I didn't think you could run a 1.5mm ring on a 32A MCB - I thought 20A max. As you've guessed I'm NOT an electrician but have had a bit of experience but with all the new Part P regs, I don't do any work myself and leave it to the 'experts'.

Sponsored Links
Holmslaw, Thanks - I was afraid you say something along those lines! Can confirm that there is no supplementary fused connections to the main ring - so it's not a fused radial circuit or similar. He's definitely 'broken' the exisiting ring at a redundant socket and used the 2 legs to extend the ring at this point feeding the new sockets. So the existing 2.5mm cable is physically joined to the new 1.5mm cable at both legs, with no extra circuit protection.

Sounds as if neither the kitchen fitter or his 'electrician' mate that certified the install are particularly competent, then.

Sponsored Links
You need to report everybody concerned (the fitter, the electrician, the companies they work for and whichever kitchen company subbed to them if you didn't employ them yourself) to Trading Standards and Building Control and whichever body the electrician claims to be a member of.

Between then they have contravened the wiring regulations, and broken the law (the Building Regulations and the Construction (Design and Management) Regulations), and possibly committed fraud.

I seem to have lost touch with reality.