Failing halogen downlighters

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm a newbie here, and definitely no electrician so please go easy on me... about a year ago we had 15 MR16 50W recessed halogen downlighters fitted in our kitchen/diner. Since then we've had 7 bulbs fail, which seemed very much on the high side (is it?). More worryingly, in the last few weeks, I've had 3 more fail and I found the problem wasn't the bulb but the fitting. On one it looked as if the bare end of the wire had snapped, the ceramic fittings all looked in bad condition,with sooty deposits all over their innards. I can't tell for sure what rating the fittings are but does it sound as if they're too low rated? Don't know if it means anything but there's "25. 106/5" stamped on the bottom of the ceramic bit. Also worried that the wires might be overheating - I read elsewhere on this forum that they should be heat shielded?

Anybody any advice before I complain to our electrician?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
are the lamps left on for extended periods?

are any of the clips from the downlights missing,causing the 12v wires to touch the lamp?

what make are they?

as for bulbs blowing,ten in a year doesnt sound too bad really.when you say low voltage,i assume you mean 12v

Seems like the lamp heat has damaged the holders , you may need to get new holders fitted or maybe new fittings.

Sometimes it is not best to use 50 watt lamps if fittings are constantly on.

you can also get lamps that prevent heat going back into the fitting, but it sounds like the damage has been done

are the lamps left on for extended periods?

are any of the clips from the downlights missing,causing the 12v wires to touch the lamp?

what make are they?

as for bulbs blowing,ten in a year doesnt sound too bad really.when you say low voltage,i assume you mean 12v

Depends what you mean by extended periods - they can be on for a few hours at a time, we spend quite a lot of time in there.