Faulty RCBO?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by ed110220, 30 Oct 2021.

  1. ed110220

    ed110220

    Joined:
    7 Nov 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    While cooking dinner the oven and hob switched off. I checked the consumer unit and the RCBO for the cooker hadn't tripped. It still flips off when you press the test button. There is definitely no power in the cooker circuit as the cooker switch is the type with a socket and that doesn't work either.

    Does this seem like a failed RCBO? It's fairly new, less than a year old.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,966
    Thanks Received:
    1,132
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could be a loose connection... somewhere.

    What make is the RCBO?
     
  4. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    6,360
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    More likely an issue elsewhere on the circuit. Do you have any testing equipment ?
     
  5. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    49,227
    Thanks Received:
    3,253
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do I take it that there are no problems other than with the cooker circuit?

    Kind Regards, John
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. ed110220

    ed110220

    Joined:
    7 Nov 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all, no, no other problems apart from the cooker circuit. Seemed a bit strange to me that the power failed on it but it hasn't tripped. I checked the cooker switch where the oven and hob are wired in for loose connections but it's still all tight. Just remembered that the electrician did join the cooker cable with a junction box when moving the CU so I can check the connection there (forgot that the cable wasn't continuous any more). I have a multimeter. It's a BG CUCRB40.
     
  8. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,632
    Thanks Received:
    2,141
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Set your multimeter to a high AC volts range first test that the meter is working using a known voltage point, perhaps the incoming supply at the main switch in the consumer unit. Use the meter to check for voltage starting at the RCBO end. Check for voltage leaving the RCBO. If that is OK, move on to the junction box. Take a logical approach along the connecting cable and you find the culprit.
    NOTE: be careful, you will be testing with live voltages in play!
     
  9. ed110220

    ed110220

    Joined:
    7 Nov 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all, turned out it was a loose connection. The live conductor coming out of the RCBO hadn't even been screwed in at all. I thought the electrician was in a hurry when he fitted the consumer unit!
     
  10. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,632
    Thanks Received:
    2,141
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great. Sounds like you need to check the rest of the connections.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page