Fence Post concrete mix

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have 17x 8' @ 4x4" fence posts to install in garden. I will be digging out 2' of depth and using concrete. Can anyone tell me if the Postcrete type stuff is any good? And with the amount of posts I need would it be better to make my own concrete?

Now I am a complete newbie to making concrete so I am unsure what I actually need to make. I know I will probably be hiring a Cement mixer (£18 per day here). I have no idea how much materials I will need.

Also from removing patio I have got a heap of stones that was used under the patio base. Looks like 3/4" angluar stone? (think thats the name?);

Can I use these for mixing in to concrete? Or can I use these before I put concrete in so post is not on soil??

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
The mixer would work out cheaper on 17 posts.

That stone will be ok mixed with sand, there will be a guide on the cement bags saying what mix of sand/stone/cement to mix.

Hello, Usually it's three and one with Cement Mix. That's 3 Sand to one cement. You can add some of your stones yes, that will help. Don't despair - I am a 66 year old lady and I am going to project manage my own 60ft of fencing later on in the year. I had a good teacher in my first husband. However, Hubby number two will simply follow me and provide the muscle which I lack ! It is not Rocket science but obviously you need to take all your measurements into account. Good Luck ! Stones are good for drainage if put down hole on their own before you put the posts in.

Sponsored Links
Sorry, also meant to say don't bother with Postcrete it will work out expensive and your own knock up will be better.