Filling a vent hole in the kitchen wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

My house used to have a hot air heating system which means there are heating vents in the walls all over the house. They are unsightly, and I want them out. They all lead to what is now an empty cupboard in the hall.

Most are covered by new radiators, so that fine, but there is one in the kitchen which I took the front off - leaving a hole in the wall about 7" by 9" which is flush with the wall, and contains a metal duct thing.

I want to fill it in and then have a nice smooth finish.

Being a complete beginner... would it be very stupid to get some plaster board larger than the hole, and chisel out a little bit round the hole for the plaster board to sit snuggly in, join it, fill the gaps, and then paint it...?

Or is there a better idea (probably...)

I have read loads of posts on this forum now, and I am very impressed by the professional, amusing and informative answers - I hope someone can help on this one.

Dawn

Sponsored Links
Cut a breeze block down to size and cement in, then render over and plaster. Thats assuming your walls are solid and not stud walls of course.

You could do what you suggest but you will always have a hollow bit. First of all I would try & remove the metal duct or at least knock it back a couple of inches from the face of the wall, otherwise you will always get a crack around where the hole has been. I would fill the hole with a cut to size Thermalite block, allowing a 10-12mm mortar gap all the way around, I did this with the hole left by a large soap dish I removed from my bath room.