Fitting Fluidmaster Bottom Entry Valve

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've been having problems with a Torbeck bottom fill valve not shutting off. Have replaced the diaphram a few times but it doesn't fix the problem for long. It's also recently been hammering when it does shut off after filling.

So now I'm thinking of replacing the Torbeck with a Fluidmaster PRO45B (with brass shank). I'm a complete amateur so I will probably get a plumber to come and do the work, but I first wanted to get some advice on whether or not the Fluidmaster is the right thing to get, and if it will be possible to fit one into my tank, which has a very large flush valve close to the inlet valve ? I'm attaching photos ...

Thanks in advance for any suggestions ...

Earl

PS - I've been told that replacing the whole valve can be tricky on a toilet like mine where the porcelain tank sits directly on top of the porcelain bowl - why is this & how to best avoid causing damage ?

View media item 55413View media item 55412View media item 55414

Sponsored Links
The Fluidmaster is an excellent piece of kit - probably the best out there.
If it will physically fit inside the cistern then its the one to use.......from your pics its impossible to tell, really.
The brass thread is a couple of millimetres longer than the typical plastic ones and this isn't a problem unless your existing pipe is tight against the floor.
The Fluidmaster, like the Torbeck, is adjustable for height and both come with pressure restrictors - which you should use if the water pressure is high.
If in doubt, replace the Torbeck like for like - at least you know it fits - and fit the high pressure restrictor inside the stem.
Use a new fibre washer on the connector too, and watch for darn cross threading!
Fitting a new fill valve does not involve splitting the loo....its only replacing the syphon that needs that.
John :)