1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Flash Upgrading Texecom Elite 48

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by lynchnigel, 25 Nov 2020.

  1. lynchnigel

    lynchnigel

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Despite following what it says in the PDF ie power down the panel - disconnect all from the comm ports
    When flashing via the port (pin1 in the right orientation) it failed to flash and the panel deadish - The power was applied once the USB Jac001 was in place and set to prog.

    with no power on the panel - everything unplugged and battery connected - the tx light flashes and then goes off?
     
    Last edited: 25 Nov 2020
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,966
    Thanks Received:
    611
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The usb lead plugs into pc/laptop and to the flasher unit, the flasher unit is fixed to the flasher pins, red line lined up with the arrow (all comports removed).

    start the flasher and follow the on screen prompts, switch to prog and press reset, follow on screen prompts, do not disturb the unit its a slow process.

    when finished,should be prompted to switch to run and press rest panel should power up, then do a load defaults and re inject into the panel
     
  4. lynchnigel

    lynchnigel

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply, this is the process I did, I wonder if something has caught or something gone wrong during the flash process, as there is now nothing on the board. So back to tech support, i've only just replaced it for a CIE error and as it was new wanted to upgrade the firmware.
    They say disconnect the comm ports what shouldnt need to be disconnected? Network? Siren?
    thanks for your help. a while ago we went through a similar process and you replied then as well so thanks for your reply again.
     
  5. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,966
    Thanks Received:
    611
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I can talk you through this if you wish, the panel is still currently salvageable from what you have said.

    just check its all correct (dont believe it was based on outcome).
    then start the process again, it should bounce back once complete

    CIE fault repeatedly is usually spike affecting the processor so you can usually replicate this but down powering and powering back up very quickly, there are other causes.
     
  6. lynchnigel

    lynchnigel

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi there
    sorry the last panel has now gone back with the CIE error so that is out of the equasion. This panel is the replacement - being new I thought i would upgrade the firmware.

    This panel is dead by the looks when applying the power - Ive checked the fuses. Holding default when powering on the power and kickstart.
     
  7. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,966
    Thanks Received:
    611
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The CIE was just a comment on the previous panel since you mentioned it.

    The new panel should still be recoverable.
    I have seen the panel look dead but giving it another proper flash will Almost certainly bring it back to life, so check everything is correct before starting the flasher program.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. lynchnigel

    lynchnigel

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK thank you I will connect to it again and see what happens thank you.
     
  10. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,966
    Thanks Received:
    611
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you still struggling take pictures of the flash connection, the com ports and (check the comports are programmed off to be on the safe side) wyou wont have been able to do that bit but if your flashing a panel with the flasher I always check they are programmed off as well as disconnected.
     
    Last edited: 25 Nov 2020
  11. lynchnigel

    lynchnigel

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you're absolutely blooming right!!! its ok and heartbeat has lit now
     
  12. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,966
    Thanks Received:
    611
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LOL no worries, mines a bottle of Red
     
  13. lynchnigel

    lynchnigel

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol sounds good
     
Loading...

Share This Page