Flloor tiles grouted today - sealing tomorrow

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
No-one answered my last post, I'm really getting nervous - the sealing of the grout on the tiles in the bathroom is really mucky looking. The other places don't look too bad. But they grouted a huge area of living room today and are going to seal it tomorrow. Is that wise?

Sponsored Links
If you could just go down the list to my last question, I explained exactly the difference - if that wouldn't be too much trouble. I do appreciate you replying, thank you.

Sorry....right, i've just skimmed through your other post.

I'm no expert at all but i have just used a sealer on my tiles. The grout i would've thought would have to be completely dry and thats the only reason i can think of for it being patchy. If he cleaned the floor with a wet sponge then applied sealer this may be the cause. The sealer i have definitely says the surface must be dry.

Somebody may correct me on this but its the only thing i can think of if the grout was sound before hand.

Sponsored Links
bizgen said:
No-one answered my last post, I'm really getting nervous - the sealing of the grout on the tiles in the bathroom is really mucky looking. The other places don't look too bad. But they grouted a huge area of living room today and are going to seal it tomorrow. Is that wise?

Hi
What have you put the tiles on?
:rolleyes:

What have they put the tiles on? Not sure I follow - do you mean the base or the adhesive? The base is concrete and there are underfloor heating pads.
It seems a shame that the nice limestone colour has gone a rather grubby beige - and not a very even looking beige at that. As I said, one of the bathrooms is really uneven in colour and rather dirty looking.
They seemed to make a big effort to get the surplus grout off, but when you look across the surface it is quite powdery looking.

DIYnot Local

Staff member