freezing bedroom over double garage

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I know this subject has been done before but their problems seem to be in older houses or with non lagged floors. I have a master bedroom over a double garage in a house that's 9 years old. The bedroom is very cold compared to the rest of the house. The garage has 2 doors standard up and over thin metal ones they do fit in the standard way but are not fitted with any draft excluders or rubber seals. The garage is brick and has 2 double glazed windows in one side. It is lined with breeze blocks and water tight. The ceiling is plasterboard, skimmed and has a silicon type gel at all the edges. I assume it has some insulation but couldnt say without cutting into it. The loft is lagged at the rafters above the bedroom ceiling. The bedroom has 3 external walls which are cold to the touch.

I want to try to make this room cozy as i have to sleep in it!! So can I??

My plan and tell me if its a waste of time - put 2 new thermal garage doors on the garage with proper draft fittings (Hormann type quality) line the garage with plasterboard to stop cold ingress through walls - add extra insulation to loft above bedroom and into ceiling of garage.

is this expensive plan likely to work? or is the only real way to stop it feeling cold is to brick up the garage and turn it into a room - i don't really need another room and i worry about resale if there's no garages.

long post sorry for the essay!

chris

Sponsored Links
I am assuming the walls are cavity walls, were they insulated when it was built?

Is it a flat roof above the bedroom or part of the pitched roof of the main house? What therefore is the level of insulation above the bedroom?

What type of floor does the bedroom have? Is it carpeted? Good underlay?

How is the bedroom heated at the moment? Where is the radiator located? How large is the radiator and what are the dimensions of the room?