1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Fused switch for heating system.

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by soloheadbeg, 28 Dec 2011.

  1. soloheadbeg

    soloheadbeg

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello

    Is it possible to get a fused switch which can have two serarate live inputs and two corresponding outputs. I want to put a switch in my boiler house which will isolate the switched live from my timer and also the permanent live which feeds my frost thermostat. Currently these can only be isolated by switching the 10 A mcb at the consumer unit. I want to protect the circuit with a 3A fuse in the fused switch. I'd be grateful for any suggestions.

    Cheers
     
  2. holmslaw

    holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. soloheadbeg

    soloheadbeg

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The boiler and pump can be isolated by the double socket already there but the permanent live coming from the timer to the frost stat currently can not be isolated. I am also anxious to protect the entire circuit with a 3A fuse.

    Thanks
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,823
    Thanks Received:
    4,122
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Then it is wired incorrectly.

    There should be only one switch (or plug) which would isolate the whole system.

    As it is it is a danger to anyone who may come to work on the system.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. soloheadbeg

    soloheadbeg

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks EFL

    That's exactly why I want a fused switch so that if someone comes to service the boiler etc they can isolate everything. I was enquiring about the double switch as if one existed it would make the job easier. It appears that I'll have to bring the t&e from the consumer unit to the boiler house and then back to the timer so I can isolate everything. As it stands whoever wired it in the first place took the cable directly to the timer in the living room.

    Cheers
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page