Gaining entry to gas employment

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I wonder if anyone could give me any help or advice on how to gain employment in the gas industry?

I have been on the british gas website for some time with no joy.

I see a lot of these training centre's but some get a bad press.

I am 31 years old. I work as a technician for an electronics company and educated to NC/HNC/HND level in electronics.

There is nothing in the way of courses except the ACS but you have to be experienced to do this.

Anyone have any idea's?

Sponsored Links
NVQ, through college/night school.

But why the hell do you want to get into this game, it aint all its craiced up to be, heavily legislated and long often unsociable hours.

Oh and you aint gunna make the money you see advertised that comes after years of experience.

With your qualies I would look at getting a cert ed, D32/D33 and going into teaching you trade ;)

Thanks for the reply.

I want out of electronics all together.

I know for a fact i would enjoy doing the gas and im not expecting to earn big money.

Its a skilled job where you get 'out and about' and meet people. Not stuck in doors all day with the same people and same chat. The electronics industry has taken a hammering. I have escaped being paid off a few times now.

If i lost my job i would struggle to find other employment i think.

I looked at my local college's for NVQ's but seen nothing.

Would this be an NVQ in gas or plumbing?

Wouldn't being an electrician be more of a natural switch? They always seem happier for some reason aswell! :)

NVQ2 in plumbing would be a good place to start. You need a work placment and could take a year or two to complete.

NVQ3 would then cover more of the htg and gas side, again another year.

If you've now got 3+ yrs plumbing/heating experience working with someone then you can think bout the ACS.