Garage conversion process

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, im an amateur at this and would like to know if my proposed plan of action is in the right order etc.

I have an attached single garage with a flat roof and a concrete floor. The two outside walls are single skin brick. I will be getting a builder in to create a door into the house and also to brick up the side door and front of garage, leaving space for a window. Also will get a plasterer. The garage is two courses below the house. I will be doing this with regs.

Create doorway from house

First fix electrics

Floor

Place DPM on to garage floor

Fix joist hangers to walls and place joists (this method will be used to level the floor as i think the concrete slab is sloped).

Place celotex or similar between joists.

Lay T&G chipboard up to dpm which will run up the wall a couple of feet from the floor.

Walls on single leaf sides

Apply vapor barrier across wall

Fix base plate to chipboard floor attaching through floor joists.

Fix head plate to roof joists.

Fix studs at 400mm intervals.

Fix noggins.

Place celotex between studs

Plasterboard

Plaster

Walls house sides

Dot and Dab and attach plasterboard's

Plaster

Ceiling

Fill void with rockwool insulation

Plasterboard

Plaster

Questions. Do i screw the chipboard to the joists?

Does the DPM on the wall sit between the brick and stud wall or between stud wall and plasterboard?

At what stage do i have front of garage bricked up. Would it make sense to have that done before anything?

How does the wall DPM attach/stay in place?

At what stage do i have second fix electrics done?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
You forgot about the roof! This will need upgrading insulation wise also.

Timber floor may need venting. A better option would be to lay down insulation sheets then screed.