Garden shed base from scratch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Everyone,

I'm not a DIY expert :confused: apart from the odd bits and pieces around the house, and I now find myself faced with a task that's completely new to me - installing a garden shed. I've found a company which has been quite highly recommended who will build and supply a treated shed. They go as far as constructing the shed in my garden and placing it on breeze blocks.

The shed I'm going for is 8ft/sq. The garden is currently turfed. It's a new property and the turf was only laid a couple of weeks ago. The shed company has said that, as long as the ground is level, they can place the breeze blocks and shed directly onto the grass. This sounds messy to me - I'll have dead grass under the shed leading to new grass on the lawn, not to mention the potential for weeds sprouting up under the shed. I'd like to cut a section out of the lawn and prepare the ground properly for the shed, also to eliminate the chance of weeds. Some areas around the house are gravelled so gravel is also my preferred option for the shed area. I just need to know how I should prepare the ground properly and the sort of materials I should be using before the shed is installed on the breeze blocks.

Any help/guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Dave

Sponsored Links
When I built my shed I dug down to around 10cm and compacted hardcore into the ground to bring the level back up to ground level. Took around 2 tons of type 1 sub base and created a solid foundation.

My ground was clay. If you're happy with how firm your ground is then most probably you'd get away with digging down around 5cm - if it's going to just be under the shed then I'd use hardcore as it's cheap. Maybe you could leave around 15cm around the shed and lay nice white spar or something there for a nice effect?