Getting my electrics certified

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have been doing my own household electrics whenever it's needed for years and recently rewired our Kitchen ring with new wire all the way back to the fuse box.

I was appalled to find that previous bodges to our house had spurs coming off of spurs, living room sockets on the kitchen ring, kitchen extractor on the main household ring and wires held together by "choc-blok" connectors.

I did my degree in electronics back in the late 90's and we had a whole subject dedicated to domestic wiring and houseold electrics. I know for sure that the "corrections" I've made to the circuit are good, with good earths, correct cables and routing etc. Ideally I should probably put a new consumer unit in as ours is getting a bit long in the tooth, but not yet.

Anyway, I've heard that I shouldn't do this any more as Kitchen and Bathroom electrics must now be fitted by a certified person. I was wondering if I'm legally bound to get someone in to certify my wiring or if someone has to rip it all out and start again.

How does someone check the routing of cables, for example - ie distance from joists, the depth of the holes through celing joists etc. Seems like an awful lot of work to go to.

When I bought some switches from B&Q they came with a leaflet stating that the regs had changed in England and Wales, but it didn't mention anything about Scotland.

Are there courses I can go on to get myself certified to do my own electrics. I'm not about to start a business as an electrician and have never charged for doing anyones electrics - friends and family do ask for the odd favour though.

I pride myself in the quality of my work and if someone is going to stop me doing it, they're going to need to show me what a certified person would do differently.

Any idea how much it would cost to get a certificate? Would I have been better off leaving the electrics they way they used to be?

Cheers,
Guy

Sponsored Links