Glowworm Boilers blows fuses

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My ex has a Glowworm Fuelsaver F that I fitted a new fan to last year. (another story) Some months later, it started blowing the fuse on the PCB and every time I tested it, everything was ok. No shorts & no earths. The last fuse lasted about 4 months until today when the RCD tripped just after the boiler was switched on. The fuse had blown again. I'd left my meter at another job (I'm an alarm engineer) so couldn't test the boiler apart from replacing the fuse so I switched on and noted when it tripped the RCD. Fan starts ok, pressure switch operates, then when the ignition starts to click the RCD trips. Is this the gas valve that's causing the RCD/fuse to trip & if so, can I replace the electrical part without touching the gas pipes? Your help would be appreciated.

Paul.

Sponsored Links
It is usually only the fan and the pump that have enough juice to blow the fuse.

Thanks for coming back so quickly. I'm sure it's not the pump because the pump starts runs ok when the controls (timer & stat) are turned on. Like I said, the fan starts ok and runs for a few seconds before the ignition stage. One click, then it trips. That's what makes me think it's the gas valve. If I disconnect the wires to the valve & switch on I can see if the RCD trips. If it doesn't then it's a new valve. Not too keen on touching the gas pipes, though.