Glowworm Ultracom 30sxi F9 issue

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I moved into a new house last May (2018) our Glowworm Ultracom 30sxi (F9 issue) has become the bane of my life!

Boiler is 10 years old - the plumber (who originally fitted the boiler) has 1/ cleaned pipes (boiler ok for 3 or 4 weeks then starts progressively F9'ing until it'll barely stay on), 2/ changed the pressure sensor (same cycle, ok for 2 or 3 weeks then goes back to cutting out more and more frequently) and then 3/ changed the PCB (guess what, same cycle).

He's now saying there's nothing else he can do and maybe I need to either get someone else to look at it or get a new boiler......

I'm not very technically minded but I'd have thought there should be some resolution possible - reading online it looks like I'm not alone with F9 problems on this boiler.

Anyone have any views on less drastic solutions than "new boiler"?

Sponsored Links
I presume he's measured the water pressure?

It can also be down to a comms fualt from the pump at start up.

When was your system last power flushed? Does it have up-to-date inhibitor?

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi SammyInnit - plumber has flushed the system but not power flushed it - afraid I don't know re inhibitor.

I read on a separate post that the pump might need replacing.

It all seems a bit trial and error though.

It will soon be like Trigger's brush - I'm up to £600 a counting and it's not fixed

Sponsored Links
It could be one of three things - the pump isn't working as it should, the diverter valve is faulty or the heat exchanger is full of sludge and limiting flow rate.

Unfortunately, hiring a plumber who's readily spent money before determining the cause has now lead you into the territory of new boiler money.