going to build garden block wall and reder. any precautions?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi there.
im a general builder, bricklayer by qualification.

im building a garden wall for a friend. its around 7m x 2m and will be build from concrete blocks laid flat..

is there any precautions i should take or anything i should do to help the rendering stage?

i have read a few thread when i searched saying that everything was great for 12 months then the render started to crack and look blown.

looking for any tip at all.
how long should i leave before rendering, what mix for rendering, admixtures, should i allow the scratch coat to fully cure etc etc.

thanks for your time
ian

Sponsored Links
Raking out the joints in the blockwork as you build, will give a good key for the scratch coat. Wet the wall down and allow to drain off before you scratch.

I think it's always better to allow a newly built block wall to settle/dry out a while before rendering, but that's just my opinion. If there's a lot of money laying out, others might want to complete the job as soon as poss'.

4.1.1, plastering sand, cement, and lime is a good mix for a scratch coat.
5.1.1, plastering sand, cement, and lime is a good mix for the top.

Admixture: I use Evoplast,, a combined waterproofer/plasticiser, easy to understand mixing ratio, 1 part Evoplast to 30 parts water,,, whatever you use to measure it out with. It comes in a 5 litre container,,, other sizes available too.

I always like to let a scratch coat fully cure, whether it's render or roughcast.

Roughcaster.

Sponsored Links
Just wet the blockwork down with water before scratch-coating Ian, let excess water drain off,, and no need for pva. It makes for a stronger job too if the mortar,, once scratched,, dries out "slowly".

Roughcaster.

perfect, thanks very much roughcaster.
just 2 more Q's for you.

what sort of thickness per coat should i be looking at, 5-7mil each?