1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Golf MK6 1.6 TDI 2009 CAYC Throttle body Fault P2111

Discussion in 'Car Repairs / Maintenance' started by Caesar, 28 Apr 2020.

  1. Caesar

    Caesar

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi All

    My Golf MK6 1.6 TDI 2009 CAYC Throttle body gives a Fault code of P2111 stuck open.

    Have cleaned throttle body out but fault code and engine management light still comes on!

    Flap was covered in gunk and have used Carb cleaner to clean the unit out.

    Is it better to renew this part or try and repair with a repair kit from say ebay etc?

    Also the 3 bolts securing the unit to the inlet manifold are extremely hard to access! Is there a better way of gaining access to these bolts easily instead of dismantling the whole front?

    Many Thanks.

    Caesar
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Burnerman

    Burnerman

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    22,987
    Thanks Received:
    4,470
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What is the car doing, Caesar - poor idle, hesitant or jerky throttle delivery? Very common on a VDO unit and unfortunately unlikely to be cured by internal cleaning as the potentiometer inside - which sends signals to the ECU - gets huffy too.
    I'll direct you to ecutesting.com or BBA- Reman for some possible information......I've used BBA before but no comment on ecutesting I'm afraid.
    John :)
     
  4. Caesar

    Caesar

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Burnerman

    Many thanks for your reply. That is just it not hesitant, jerky throttle delivery etc! Just Engine Management light on and Fault code!

    Regards Caesar
     
  5. Burnerman

    Burnerman

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    22,987
    Thanks Received:
    4,470
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Aye, an old favourite......sometimes the engine won’t tick over at all, and then it can be fine for a week - maddening!
    Does your car misbehave like this? I’m not certain from your reply.....but if the car is ok and the fault code is read, make sure its cancelled again.
    I’ve tried testing these things using an oscilloscope and it checked out perfectly, but it wouldn’t perform on the car, yet popping a new one on and all was great :( don’t ask me why!
    Anyway, firms like BBA will test and recon your own throttle body and give you a 2 year warranty.....it could be worth a call. Someone told me they will fix you up with a replacement unit until yours is done but I can’t qualify that one.
    I’d never fit a throttle from a breakers, invariably they are a pile of crap.
    John :)
     
  6. Caesar

    Caesar

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Funny thing is that the car behaves as normal! Cleared code but returns as soon as you switch ignition on and drive!
     
  7. Burnerman

    Burnerman

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    22,987
    Thanks Received:
    4,470
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seriously, if the car is behaving then I’d guess the throttle body is just fine.
    I’d look elsewhere but locally, including any air pipes in the vicinity (especially ones carrying fumes from the crankcase) and the MAP sensor (immediately after the air filter) if it has one.
    Scratching my head though!
    John :)
     
  8. Caesar

    Caesar

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Will do as soon as weather dries up and will let you know how i get on thanks Burnerman
     
  9. Belle427

    Belle427

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    2,980
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Location:
    Newport, S Wales.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some cars have a re learn procedure if the throttle body is cleaned and the position may have changed.
    Worth googling it, used to be on some cars that you started it without throttle input and give it a few minutes to go through it’s procedure.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. baldykev

    baldykev

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am pretty sure that they have a throttle pedal switch (just under the throttle pedal ) check that and also connections on body on throttle and pedal switch
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Caesar

    Caesar

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Burnerman / Belle427 / BaldyKev

    Many thanks for your replies really appreciate it. Update today was took off the throttle body again, opened black PVC cover the for electronic / mechanical gears are. The whole compartment was Full of Oil!!!! Drained off half a litre of oil and God know how it got in there as the seal was in intact!

    Removed the gears, springs and motor all where fully immersed in oil. Sprayed and who electronic circuit board and throttle body with WD40 and cleaned everything out meticulously. Re-assembled the unit and relocated it back into engine inlet manifold.

    Cleared codes out and took car for a long run placing different loads on the engines etc.

    So far all seems fine!!!! No Engine light on no codes!!!!!!

    Hopefully this has fixed the problem!!!

    Many Thanks all once again.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  13. Burnerman

    Burnerman

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    22,987
    Thanks Received:
    4,470
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Caesar, this deserves respect with a capital R (y)

    1/2 a litre of oil? Where the hell did that come from :eek:

    I’ve only opened one of these before (early Polo) and that was dry.

    Anyone care to comment?
    John :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. troutybrown

    troutybrown

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure on the vw setup but on other marques the crankcase ventilation is directed back through inlet and this mixed with the soot gunges up the inlet manifolds.
    Some redirect this to a seperate catch tank.

    And well done to the OP.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Burnerman

    Burnerman

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    22,987
    Thanks Received:
    4,470
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For sure I’m well familiar with closed crankcase ventilation and have often scraped incredible layers of crap off the butterflies and so on - with this one how the thing was still performing well is beyond me.
    So, in future I’ll split the next one instead of just fitting new, so cheers (hail?) Caesar (y)
    John :)
     
  16. Caesar

    Caesar

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Burnerman / All

    Yeah I only attempted the repair after researching other users who had near enough the same problem. Used Goggle search and youtube. Suppose am old school, hate throwing things away without at least attempting to repair.

    Once again many thanks all.
     
  17. Belle427

    Belle427

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    2,980
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Location:
    Newport, S Wales.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice find.
     
Loading...

Share This Page