Good place/shop to buy decoration materials? B&Q = :-(

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone,

as my name suggests, I am a decoration newbie (deco-newbie, but busy as a bee) and have recently gotten more and more depressed by the low quality of materials available at B&Q. Any suggestions as to fabulous shops / places where you can buy amazing materials at good prices? (paints, fillers, plaster, etc)

Thanks for any input.

decobee
ps: based in glasgow

Sponsored Links
For paints I don't think you can beat Dulux Trade Centres. Good quality paints and brushes and I've found the staff very knowledgable and helpful. :)

I think you'll find that B&Q sell Dulux and Crown. Not exactly low quality.

The Dulux, crown etc sold in B&Q etc it retail paint..its reasonable quality but not as good as the trade stuff, but ive always belived that if a surface needs two coats anyway then it doesnt really matter...trade or retail..the difference can be when using a trade product can mean the difference between one and two coats...then id go for trade paints every time.

As for home branded paints, id avoid them.

Johnstone do a decent range reasonable quality and a fair price...but again stick to the trade versions.

Sponsored Links
B&Q sell Dulux Trade v.matt, Dulux Trade v.silk -Dulux Trade Weathershield masonry, Dulux Trade Weathershield Undercoat/gloss etc, if you prefer to pay more for buying trade :LOL:

There is Trade paints at B&Q Wharehouses but the price of cheaper paints dictates the publics chioce. Just llike Organic Class A Chicken Breasts £6, compared to 9 Chicken Breasts at £6 !. You get what you pay for. Dulux Trade is the best paint but some of there products do have flaws. I personaly use nearly every brand as each brand has there own best product be it for covering power etc..........................

Third_Eye said: