Halogen lighting below kitchen wall units

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've just bought some halogen lights to fit at the bottom of my kitchen wall units, to light the worktop and to create nice 'ambient' lighting in the kitchen.

My kitchen units don't have a valance below, although it's not a problem to buy matching valance, so I can do that if need be.

When I look at this type of lighting in shops that sell kitchens, all I see is the light below the unit, I don't see any wires, and I don't see the transformer either.

What is the best way to fit the halogen lights to the bottom of the units, without showing the wiring etc? How do I 'hide' the cable and the transformer?

I'm a diy novice, so all suggestions will be considered. I just want to make the lighting look good without all the bits showing.

Any advice appreciated. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
the ones you have seen are probably purpose built with the lights built in during construction.

you can get surface mount halogen ljghts but you will only see the cable if you look fir it

why not use the slimline lighting tubes, designed for that type of thing. Theyre cheap and dont need a transformer. Wont throw out as much heat as a halogen either

I agree, I have just used slimline 'triphosphor' tubes in my kitchen and they were a lot easier to fit than halogen cabinet downlights I have used in the past. They can be hidden behind a fairly small lighting pelmet.

Sponsored Links
Fluorescents under units win over halogens every time. Thinner, no transformer and a LOT less heat. Apart from a modest sized valance you might need something else; a means of closing off the small gaps between units. If you don't do anything about it you will see bright vertical lines of light shining through those gaps that you never knew you had - and unless you're a b****y good carpenter you'll get light leakage above the valance too. Some shops use sticky tape for this. I wonder how long it stays stuck.

Too late, mate!! ;)