Country
United Kingdom
1) halsted finest gold - gas

2) diverter pin not moving

3) no recent work/changes

4) problem started 1st jan 2009

5) when hot tap/shower is turned on, DHW pin does not move

6) bled all rads, pressure when CH is on maxes at 1.5 bar-ish

hi experts, i have a halsted finest gold and the pin at the end of the diverter valve that usually presses the DHW microswitch is not moving as expected.

i realise this is typical of a diaphragm failure but i was wondering if there was anything else i should check before calling a plumber or attempting diy (i am an engineer but not a boiler one). i was thinking maybe the expansion tank pressure may be low - would this affect actuation of the diverter?

Sponsored Links
Diaphragm is holed, try opening two hot taps does this make the boiler fire.

yes, the boiler fires with shower and bath taps on full - does this diagnose problem as diaphragm? how tricky a job is it and can someone with good spanner skills complete it?

Its the diaphragm holed for deffinate then.

very easy to replace. do you have the instructions manual.

;)

Sponsored Links
very easy to replace. do you have the instructions manual.

thankyou very much for your help

yes i have the manual here, it sounds pretty straight forward.

i'll be looking for a flow switch diaphragm kit onlone, suggestions are welcome. also i know i have to detach the dhw pressure sensing pipes - will the o-rings required to refit these come with the kit or will i need to purchase these extra?

They come as extra, though silicon grease or a tad of Vassaline helps the seal.

Again very easy to do with instuctions to hand for DIY, and some "experts" :LOL:

;)

i'll be attempting this on monday.

thanks again for the advice, i will post the outcome when complete.

IIRC, the water section is very similar to some of the Ariston Combi's. I have fitted many diaphragms to the Halstead Finest Range that were a fraction of the cost because I used Ariston Parts.

Dave