health and safety...

I

imamartian

like most people i hate it's 'meddling' side..

but as a computer programmer, i understand why it has manifested itself as such !!

Look at a sales order for example... it usually has three lines on it... maybe 1, and maybe 10 ! As a programmer you need to code for it to have a million lines on... or no lines.... so you create a set of rules that fits any sales order...

move on to a ladder... most people are fine up a ladder... but what if the ladder climber is drunk? then they need a helmet, knee and elbow pads and a harness.... so therefore, the generic rules say we all need the same kit !!

you can't code for "what if the ladder climber is confident, blind, suicidal, one-legged".... etc etc ......

I do believe however, that the H&S council need a "common sence get out clause"... or sommat !!!! :eek:

Sponsored Links
Of course you can program for drunk, one legged, no armed ladder climbers
Prime example

10 , create ladder/ increment 4
20 ladder operative = normal
30 ladder operative =drunk (like I am at this moment in time)
40 if ladder operative = 20, goto 60
50 if ladder operative = drunk goto 70
60 climb ladder
70 Stop what your doing and inform HSE
80 if ladder operative = 20 (but he knows someone who is 30) goto 90
90 report person who is drunk to 110
100 if ladder operative =20 but doesn't know anyone at all who is 30, goto 120
110 = HSE + anyone who can talk him out of going up the ladder until HSE get there
120 climb ladder (again) .........
Simples :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL:

I learnt PASCAL, and BASIC...10 rem, 20 goto 10...repeat.

Sponsored Links
I know who my friends are, and none are imagined.

The question remains; How are you able to call people Idiots and go off tangent and not be dealt with as others including myself have been?
I had a warning and was suspended for a few days, ( Although more than was mentioned and as some thought a total ban).