Help building shelves

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I want to build some shelves to hold some stereo equipment (my vynil turntables). I am a complete novice :oops: and intend ordering cut-to-size wood and buying the necessary tools. The stereo equipment that will sit on the shelving is pretty heavy and the wall is a partition wall that is hollow (not sure what material the wall is made of?).

Please could someone advise me how best to attach the shelves to the wall - I suspect I will have to have some vertical supports holding the shelves up?? Is there a website article that might talk me through an appropriate technique?? :confused:

Sponsored Links
ChrisH said:
I want to build some shelves to hold some stereo equipment (my vynil turntables). I am a complete novice :oops: and intend ordering cut-to-size wood and buying the necessary tools. The stereo equipment that will sit on the shelving is pretty heavy and the wall is a partition wall that is hollow (not sure what material the wall is made of?).

Please could someone advise me how best to attach the shelves to the wall - I suspect I will have to have some vertical supports holding the shelves up?? Is there a website article that might talk me through an appropriate technique?? :confused:

Great idea, you can save a packet by making your own stuff, some inspiration for designs here.

Use 18mm mdf, couple of sheets should do it and will costs about £30. Get yourself a handsaw, sandpaper, small powered screwdriver or drill and some mdf screws. If you want to make it any funny shape or contour the edges then a jigsaw will be handy. Also some right angle metal brackets.

If there's an ikea near you, they sell table legs for about £5 each, you could fix a couple of these to the front of the shelf, and use a timber batten on the wall to sit the back of the shelf onto.