Help with building shelves

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'd like to build 4 shelves in the space between the dishwasher and wall as show in the photo below.

The shelves will then hold some wicker baskets.

I'm a complete amateur when it comes to things like this so would appreciate some advice on the best way of fixing the shelves. I could screw batons to the wall to hold the shelves but not sure what to do on the dishwasher side. Any ideas? Any advice on the best wood to use for the shelves.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
i would make a unit to slide in as you dont have enough room to drill into the wall and cabinet
i would make it from white faced board or 12mm board

I would agree just make a free standing unit.

But if space is tight, and the weight in the baskets is not to heavy, you could screw battens to the wall side and back only, and then physically attach the shelf to the battens, so that the corner floats.

I'll have a think about building a freestanding unit. I'm not sure I'm confident enough to do this to the misses high standards!

I did try looking to buy a unit but couldn't find anything narrow enough (28cm). Any one have any recommendations on where I could purchase something like this?

I'm attracted to the idea of using batons at the side and back only as I don't think we'll be storing anything too heavy in there. What do you think the maximum recommended weight would be? We'd probably look to store some kitchen utensils in one and maybe some dried goods in the others.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I'll have a think about building a freestanding unit. I'm not sure I'm confident enough to do this to the misses high standards!

I did try looking to buy a unit but couldn't find anything narrow enough (28cm). Any one have any recommendations on where I could purchase something like this?