Help with identifying lighting circuit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm looking at changing my current light fittings and have been comfortable with my other rooms that have had a single switch loop in wiring setup, but this one has me stumped.

The current setup is as follows: 2 ceiling roses that are controlled by 2 light switches on a single circuit i.e. turn on an off in unison. To me it looks like a form of loop in wiring, but I'm having a hard time figuring out which wires are neutral and which are switched live. I stupidly forgot to take not of how the previous fittings were wired, hence I would really appreciate if someone could look have a quick look at the attached photos and give me a steer. Also it's my first time working with 3 core cables, so it's a bit of a learning curve for me :)

Attachments

• IMG_20200806_142722.jpg
    IMG_20200806_142722.jpg
    255.6 KB · Views: 328
  • IMG_20200806_142727.jpg
    IMG_20200806_142727.jpg
    229.9 KB · Views: 386
  • IMG_20200806_142737.jpg
    IMG_20200806_142737.jpg
    251.8 KB · Views: 308
  • IMG_20200806_142746.jpg
    IMG_20200806_142746.jpg
    226 KB · Views: 315
Sponsored Links
Quick update, I've managed to wire a downlight to one of the ceiling roses, with both switches working as expected. However, the second ceiling rose (picture attached ) is giving me a few issues. When I wire up another downlight, it's on permanently whilst the other one turns on and off with the switches. I'm wondering if I could just remove the wiring between the first and second ceiling rose and wire my downlights in series as I have done in my other rooms? I've tested this by directly attaching a second downlight to the first and it works just fine.

Attachments

• IMG_20200806_142727.jpg
    IMG_20200806_142727.jpg
    229.9 KB · Views: 260
At the light that isn't working properly some of the wires must have been not connected to the light and separately terminated.

Can you remember which?