Help with sub floor ventalation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, this is my first post and im not a DIY expert so please be gentle!
Last year i bought a terrace house in the Netherlands which was built in 1910 which has a sub floor. The problem is that it has a single storey extension on the back with a concrete base and there is no air vents at the back.

Clearly this is a big problem as the chipboard-like floor material (which was obviously installed last time the floor was repaired) has rotted through at the front of the house. On investigation I found all of the joists and boards were very wet, so now im using normal house fans in the hole where the rotten floor was to dry it out.

I think the best way to fix this is to run a pipe from the edge of the old floor where it meets the concrete up through the room and through the single storey celling thus allowing through flow. Having never done this however i need some help!

1. what diameter tube should i use (it needs to be about 3 meters long)
2. With this arrangement should i also install some type of inline fan (ive seen a few on the internet) connected to a moisture sensor under the floor? If so can someone recommend a good (but relatively cheap!) and mainly quite one.
3.If i dont need a fan do i need to have some sort of shut off valve to avoid 'whistling' noises in the tube when it is very windy.
4. As the pipe will be vertical outside what should i use to cap it off to avoid rain but allow airflow no matter the wind direction?

Sorry for the long message but i hope it is detailed enough and someone could provide me with some answers.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Are there vents at the front of the house? You really need cross ventilation so that air moves across all of the floor void from front to back

Use of any fan is unorthodox, but your idea may work. However if humidity is always high then the fan will always be on and must be rated for such use