hipped to gabled loft conversion

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi, i am very new to this but i would like to do a hip to gable loft conversion with a rear dormer. will this be possible due to every other house in the near vicinity having a hipped roof? will i need to get planning permission?

Sponsored Links
Opinion is divided this was a recent thread discussing it: //www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=215954 and here is what you can and cannot do under Permitted Development (ie without applying for Full Planning Permission): http://www.planningportal.gov.uk/permission/commonprojects/roof/

I would recommend you seek clarification from your local Planning Office.

In any case personally if you were my client I would recommend you apply for a Certificate of Lawful Development: http://www.planningportal.gov.uk/permission/next/lawfuldevelopmentcertificate

thank you for the information. As i understand it now, if x = total current loft area then planning permission is not required if the additional space created is not more than 40m3. So any addition of dormers, gabled roof will create that additional space and i can do this under permitted development..i just need to get a certificate of lawful developement or householder enquiry?

kindest regards

pradeep