1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hive Active heating

Discussion in 'Home Automation' started by mrgautrey, 15 Feb 2017.

  1. mrgautrey

    mrgautrey

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can anyone please help, I thought I would give the Hive a go at self installation! My existing programmer seems to work hot water and heating so thought the new hive controller would fit straight on but there seems to be lack of wires? the programmer is fitted directly onto a wiring center, [​IMG][​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] have a look...



    Read more: http://www.diynot.com/diy/threads/hive-active-heating.477284/#ixzz4YkFTV2gS
     
  2. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,843
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not sure why you are asking this, because your existing wiring at the BG UP2 programmer is

    N = Neutral (Blue wire)
    L = Live (Brown wire)
    1 = Hot water off (Yellow wire)
    3 = Hot water on (White wire)
    4 = Heating on (Red wire)

    This corresponds exactly with the Hive dual channel unit wiring configuration.

    The only other thing you need to do is remove the existing wired Honeywell room thermostat. The 4 wires should be disconnected from the wiring centre terminals marked 'roomstat' and the cable removed. Then where the two wires that go to the room thermostat terminals 1 and 3 were removed from (probably the red and yellow wires, but check first) insert a wire link between the two.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. mrgautrey

    mrgautrey

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi thanks for your reply, I was puzzled by the wiring as there is no heating off? and the yellow cable wired to the programmer seems to go nowhere? in the wiring center it goes to tank stat and linked to heating pump but nothing actually connected to anything?
     
  5. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,843
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I suspect your system may have started out as a 'Y Plan' with one three port valve, but has been converted to an 'S Plan' with twin two port valves some time afterwards. Don't worry too much about it though, if it works now it will work afterwards, you are only swapping like for like at the programmer and bypassing the existing thermostat.

    Anyway, I have yet to come across a single UK system that uses the heating off terminal for anything. It's absolutely normal.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  7. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page