Hob wiring help please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I want to install a candy pvc401n electric hob and a little unsure of the wiring as there are a few options........

monophase 220-240v
2 phase 220-240v
2 phase 380-415v2n
3 phase 220-240v3
3 phase 380-4153n

I think I need to wire up as monophase as this is just being installed in a normal UK house - am I right?

Also the hob is 6500w and the main cooker wire is 6mm - is this correct for the hob?

The wiring also goes on about 'shunt'?

Phase

shunt 1-2
shunt 2-3

Neutral

shunt 4-5

earth E

I am no electrician, is this suggesting that my live feed out of my 6mm cable needs to be split into 3 and goto terminals 1,2 and 3 and the neutral needs to be split into 2 and goto terminals 4 and 5?

For some reason I would have thought 3 wires - 3 terminals.

I am installing an oven as well but the instructions on there seem to suggest the oven plugs into a household ring circuit socket.

Many thanks for any help

M9G

Sponsored Links
Hobs are often set up like that and you are correct in that you need the 240 volt monophase connections. Usually the links that join certain terminals together will already be in the correct places for UK single phase but you should check this. The "shunt" term just means link the terminals specified so then the live wire goes to terminal 1, 2 or 3, the neutral to terminal 4 or 5.
Your 6mm cable is adequate providing your oven only takes up to 3000 watts. If it is a double oven using more than that you will either need individual 6mm cables to each appliance from the consumer unit or one 10mm cable from the consumer unit to serve both appliances.

Lovely thanks,

According to the spec of the oven it has a plug on the end so just plugs straight into a wall socket so no probs there.