Homelux membrane & PVA mixed with adhesive

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a plumber by trade but am tiling my friends bathroom this weekend and wanted to get it right.

1. We asked Topps tiles for a membrane to seal the walls, I have only seen a product that you paint on applied before but they recommended Homelux membrane so we have that.

It says on the instructions to use a 4mm notched trowel to apply adhesive to stick the membrane to the wall, we wanted to test out a small section before I left earlier but only had a normal flat edged trowel with no notches in it, so the surface of the adhesive is smooth and probably 2-3mm thick, will this mean the membrane we have applied will not support the tiles?
They are a 33 x 33 ceramic tile.

2. I have had a quick look around on the tiling forum and PVA seems to be a big no no, does that include mixing a little into the adhesive, as the walls are solid but the thinking we had was mixing a little PVA to the adhesive will give better adhesion to the wall.

Walls are plaster onto breeze block and we are using a BAL powder adhesive.

Many Thanks Matt.

Sponsored Links
for the membrane you should be ok,as when you apply it to the ribb of adhesive,you then use the smooth side of the serator or use a squeegy float to smooth it.

as for the pva thats a no..no..you dont need this as the bagged addy will ..do the job for you mate..

only thing i would tell you to do is prime the plaster first with an acrylic primer or a sbr just follow m.i. for ratio mate...by doing this(prime) you will stop any reaction between the finish plaster and the cement based adhesive

primer...
primer g from mapei
apd or sbr from bal..if your using bal bagged addy then use their primer..

member your weight per m2 onto plaster 20kg per m2 including addy grout this comes in at about 3-4kg per m2.