700 x 280 wall tiles.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I think I've decided on a tile for our bathroom walls, the tile is 700x280 in size. I'm not a tiler but have tiled a good bit in the past inc two batrooms, one of them our own :)

I've never used a tile that size before and wonder, are there any tips you could share, the walls should/are flat enough, no real concerns there and am going to apply the adhesive to the walls using a 6mm notch trowel.

The tile adhesive comes in bags, so it looks like I'll have to mix it.

Would there be any difference in the ready mixed adhesive compaired to the one I have to mix myself?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Ready mix adhesive sets by drying out, mostly through the grout lines. With tiles that large, it will take forever.

Powdered adhesive is cement based and sets by chemical reaction. It sets much faster than tub slop, so don't mix up more than you can use within 20 minuets or so, and clean off any excess from tiles and anything else immediately. Wearing gloves is essential unless you want cement burns.

Ready mix adhesive sets by drying out, mostly through the grout lines. With tiles that large, it will take forever.

Powdered adhesive is cement based and sets by chemical reaction. It sets much faster than tub slop, so don't mix up more than you can use within 20 minuets or so, and clean off any excess from tiles and anything else immediately. Wearing gloves is essential unless you want cement burns.

Great advice, thank you.

Just thinking, our bathroom is about 7ft 6 Sq, would a 700x280 wall tile look out of place in that size of bathroom?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Just thinking, our bathroom is about 7ft 6 Sq, would a 700x280 wall tile look out of place in that size of bathroom?

Thanks in advance.
No, it will make it look bigger imo.
In my small bathroom the boss went for 600x300 tiles and now it looks a lot bigger than before.

You may need a new tile cutter too?