Honeywell CM707 To Hive wiring issues

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I am a year one apprentice who is looking to change the Honeywell CM707 thermostat for hive.

Below are the pictures of the current wiring. I have connected a voltage tester between Line and Neutral at the thermostat and it read 50V. The property has old wiring and everything is protected with cartridge fuses with no labels.

My understanding is the Hive needs a 230V supply?

Any help would be appreciated, a bit out of my depth but would be ideal to get a good understanding not just to get it working but to learn

Thanks

Attachments

• D2A242C0-94EC-4340-B895-B40FF9150800.jpeg
    D2A242C0-94EC-4340-B895-B40FF9150800.jpeg
    168.3 KB · Views: 1,893
  • 109F7F40-5744-4D2E-BCCB-BFEDD399131D.jpeg
    109F7F40-5744-4D2E-BCCB-BFEDD399131D.jpeg
    162.4 KB · Views: 920
Sponsored Links
The hive receiver base is (should be) installed at the boiler or wiring centre where the supply will be available.

The thermostat and its wiring then become redundant.

Nest e would work from that point, but not Hive, as @EFLImpudence says one would normally fit the wireless thermostat base at the boiler, wiring centre, or programmer position, with only the sensor at the original thermostat location.

You say old property so possibly not a combi boiler, with old or oil boilers they often switch off/on, with modern gas boilers they adjust output up/down, old and oil had all the storage of hot water out side the boiler, and also pumps and valves outside the boiler, because Hive has the common internally liked to the line in the duel channel version, it can't be used with many systems. Both due to voltage and with very old systems you need the supply to N/C and N/O with the com going to boiler.