Hot Water problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
First time poster - be gentle I'm a novice!! :D

Recently moved into my new house and with the weather being warmer I've switched off the central heating and just left it to come on twice a day (hour each time AM & PM) for water. My problem is when going for a shower I have too much hot water.

The shower has two power settings and we always leave it on No. 2 and the dial set to about 7 which gives us really fast & good warm water. Now we have to turn it down to No.1 and the dial set to 11 to get a trickle of water that's fairly warm otherwise we'd be scalded. Can't get any cold water on the second power setting even when the dial is on 1 but I can get cold water when on the 1st power setting and turned lower down. This has only just started since I turned off the heating and left it on water only.

The boiler is a Honeywell L641A1005 and the timer unit is a Lifestyle LP522 if that helps at all!? Is the shower on its way out or a different problem

Any idea's please?

Thanks
James

Sponsored Links
jamesmi99 said:
The boiler is a Honeywell L641A1005 and the timer unit is a Lifestyle LP522 if that helps at all!?
No - that probably doesn't help at all.

What shower do you have?

In that case you have an electric shower, and its behaviour has nothing to do with the boiler or the programmer.

The shower has two power settings and we always leave it on No. 2 and the dial set to about 7 which gives us really fast & good warm water.
I'm wondering how recently this stopped being the normal setting.

Now we have to turn it down to No.1 and the dial set to 11 to get a trickle of water that's fairly warm otherwise we'd be scalded.
In warmer weather the incoming water is warmer, so the output will be warmer too. However, the trickle sounds odd.

Can't get any cold water on the second power setting even when the dial is on 1 but I can get cold water when on the 1st power setting and turned lower down.
This is normal.