Hotpoint WDL540 flashing lights - which fault code?

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by mal79, 20 Mar 2015.

  1. mal79

    mal79

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I have the following combination of flashing lights on my Hotpoint WDL540:


    Can anyone confirm what fault code this relates to?

    Many thanks,

    Mal
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    'Start/pause indicator light (orange) and the function indicator lights flash rapidly.'

    Manual says to switch off, unplug, wait 1 minute then try again.

    Note which programme its set to, observe the cycles it completes, door locks, drain, fill, drum rotation. Also note any pauses between each.
     
  4. mal79

    mal79

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I should have added that the switch off for a minute has been tried, but no joy with that. Question is, is it a PCB fault? PCB is out and capacitors look ok.

    Had similar problem couple of years back and had to go with new PCB after DIY C17 repair failed. So if it is PCB time again, will likely go recon as my soldering is just as bad as before.

    Mal
     
  5. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    At what point of the wash programme do the lights flash?

    Do the usual checks, motor brushes, heating element, thermostat.
     
  6. mal79

    mal79

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The lights start flashing as soon it is switched on, can't start a cycle as lights are already flashing.

    Any idea where I can find a list of the fault codes so I can narrow this down?
     
  7. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried to cancel the previous programme and start another?
     
  8. mal79

    mal79

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...the lights are flashing and I can't start a program -the machine accepts no input via the buttons or dials. The cycle previous to the fault was a wash cycle that completed, so nothing to cancel.

    As per the title of the post, what I really want to know is what fault code does the combination of flashing lights mean, i.e. "FO" code? For example, my fault looks similar to the fault posted in this thread:http://www.diynot.com/forums/appliances/hotpoint-wdl540-spin-lock-light-error.373220/; except I have also the start/pause button illuminated. Do I disregard the start/pause button light and go for new pcb, or does that mean I have an altogether different fault?
     
  9. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Remove the main pcb board and look for suspect components.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. mal79

    mal79

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Er, see my second post...

    With all due respect Yardie, I have asked a specific question regarding the fault code as per the thread title, but have received nothing but generic responses, which puts me no closer to having a working appliance. So if you know what the fault code is, now might be an opportune moment to share it?
     
  12. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To be honest I do not think it is a fault code, hence why I asked to cancel programme, try another programme.

    I believe the main pcb is faulty and you don't get a fault code for that just flashing lights and unresponsive front panel.

    You already think its the board thats faulty so get it out and see. Ok its already out!

    Sometimes visibly obvious, sometimes not but its not working so what the hell start testing components.

    If you dont have a meter or know how to test just try heating the board with a hairdryer whilst its connected and on to see if there is a change on the front panel.

    Might be worth posting photos of component and solder side of the board on here first whilst its still out.
     
  13. rocks1

    rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,137
    Thanks Received:
    1,040
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Error code is fo9. EPROM setup. It means it's lost its memory. Only way is to unplug it from wall for 5 mins. Sometimes it works otherwise you need a smart card and reader cost 150.00 or a laptop with software. Or send to emw in Nottingham to reprogram pcb cost 40.00.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried 'rocks' suggestion? Worked or not?

    Caps aren't the only thing to look at, just a common problem.

    But to be honest you simply replaced it last time so probably better you just do the same this time.
     
  15. rocks1

    rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,137
    Thanks Received:
    1,040
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Caps are only faulty on the wf and wd range 2004 to 20008. The wdl models are not affected by this fault. They been improved with the Arcadia pcbs.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. mal79

    mal79

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to rule whether 1 minute vs 5 minutes yields the same or different results, then yep. But then, no - exactly the same result as unplugging for 1 minute.

    Thank you, that answers my question. Had I noticed that the Start/Pause was also flashing, then the answer was already available in thread as above :oops: So recon board it is then - not ideal but beats the Hotpoint call out charge...

    That may explain why the C17 fix didn't work last time - there may be hope for my soldering yet!

    thanks

    Mal
     
  17. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What does one of these boards look like?

    I'd be interested to see one for reference. A couple of good pics of both sides. 2 of each side would be better so I can have a closer look.
     
Loading...

Share This Page