House insurance, claim for external burst / leak.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a leak on my water supply from the meter to the internal stopcock (confirmed by Anglian water).
I called my insurance company (Axa), to check I was covered I can see there is an excess of £350.
They tell me they cant tell me if I am covered until I may the claim, it is in the building section services & pipes.
As I live in an old house (200yrs) we believe the water supply is under the house & it looks like a new supply will go in via my neighbours property, the pipe run will be about 4 metres.
Just looking for info as to this being a valid claim.

Sponsored Links
I do these repairs for a living but have no idea about how the claims are done.

As far as I know you need to start a claim for them to proceed some investigation. If the investigation finds no leak, there is no claim. If a leak is found the claim escalates and the excess is paid.

It would be unusual for the new supply to go via your neighbours.

Now you have contacted them, it will be on your file -so expect a premium increase

I did contact AXA, They said until I claim they don't know if covered.
Anyway.
Dug down at meter & can see blue pipe going to a sleeve, so when the fella done the renovations 10yrs ago he re did water supply.
So I can see blue pipe at meter & I can see the other end in utility room all is dry I am leaking 30 litres/hr.
To get at the pipe in the utility room the boiler will need to be moved (its large floor standing LPG).
So Im at a loss as to where the leak is, good news though is I don't need to route it through neighbours garden.

Sponsored Links
If I were you I would turn off your internal stop tap to double check what Anglian said.

Then slowly walk the line of the pipe to see if you can hear the leak. If the pipe is already blue then it's likely to be on a joint somewhere unless he backfilled the trench with slate or glass.