How do I fit insulation boards?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Sounds like a stupid question, however, I'm going to use 50mm Kingspan/Celotex/Recticel to insulate a T&G 19mm tannalised shed. I plan to fit it between the 3" x 2" framework then fix OSB3 on top.

I have never used these products before and I'm pretty poor at DIY so I'm wondering how to actually fix the polystyrene boards in place before I foil tape them and screw the OSB3 to the framework on top?

I think the 3" of the 3" x 2" is the depth looking at pictures of the shed, so I have about 25mm to play with for an air gap if I use 50mm board. This makes me even more confused as to how I fix the polystyrene boards in place when I have 25mm of nothing to fix it to!

Shed arrives a week tomorrow and I want to get cracking ASAP so any advice welcome!

Sponsored Links
Are you using the polystyrene or kingspan?

Generally you just friction-fit them (ie cut the same width a the gap). If you end up a little narrow in places, use fill-and-fix foam.

Are you using the polystyrene or kingspan?

Generally you just friction-fit them (ie cut the same width a the gap). If you end up a little narrow in places, use fill-and-fix foam.

Foil backed/fronted polystyrene, I thought Kingspan was in this category but obviously not! I was looking at Recticel from Jewsons anyway but hoping to find something a bit cheaper. I think this is basically polystyrene with foil on each side?

Friction fit it is then, I thought there may be something more sophisticated I needed to do! Is the fill-and-fix foam specific to the poly insulation boards?

Is the fill-and-fix foam specific to the poly insulation boards?

No - use it for anything really.

Another trick is to tap nails partly into the studs, 2" back from the face, just to form a stop as you gently push the boards upto them. 3 or 4 nails down each side would be enough.

Sponsored Links