How do I plumb in a washing machine in place of a bathroom basin?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm a UK student who wants to install a washing machine in my uni dorm in order for my 5 flatmates and I to avoid paying £5 for the rental machines every time we need to wash something.

I'm planning to install it it in front of a bathroom sink (we have one to spare) by switching the water pipes to connect to the washing machine instead of the sink. The disused sink would then be repurposed as an outlet for the water runoff from the machine. There's a mains plug on the wall just outside the bathroom to power the washing machine.

I haven't purchased our washing machine yet and I intend to get it on the cheap from Gumtree or Facebook Marketplace. However, I don't want to buy a machine until I'm sure that the threading will fit the machine. This is especially the case because the washing machine will be crowdfunded by my flatmates so I don't want to make a mistake with our collective money.

Below is an image of the pipes at the intended installation site but I have no idea what threading those valves (silver things) are using. According to the internet, all washing machine inlet hoses are 3/4 BSP threaded. Is this the case? If so, will the valves in the image also be 3/4 BSP?

tempImageJE74ik.jpg

The compression nuts have lettering as follows: EN1254-2 15mm
The valve itself has 04-18 and ->15 markings but I don't know if this indicates threading.

Are these valves standardised to 3/4 BSP? If so, will I need a 15mm spanner to open these pipes & will the threading of the pipe fit with any washing machine I buy?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I’d guess those compression service valves are 1/2”

but you can get 1/2” to 3/4” adaptor

Are there any markings or ways for me to tell for sure what threading they have?

Sponsored Links
Where to start!
This is seriously dodgy!

Electrical appliance in a bathroom - definitely not a good idea.