How Is Any "Normal" Person Supposed to Make Sense.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
......of the buildings regulations :confused:

Its quite a number of pages long, filled with all sorts of jargon. Just looking at the table of contents makes me want to bury my head in the ground and let the worms eat my eyes out.

I want to do i little loft conversion (no building, no extending, just moving a stud wall, insulating, boarding etc) which i am more than capable of doing myself but how do i know it conforms to the regs without having the read it?

I'm new to all this. There must be an easier resource.

Sponsored Links
Well this document is pretty handy http://www.trussloft.co.uk/Downloads/Loft-Conversions-and-the-Building-Regulations.pdf although its a bit out of date in terms of fire and insulation regs. Importantly though (as that guidance is a bit out of date) for a guide to the fire regs look here http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&so...tjhwgZHdA&sig2=YMfxxJP9CILQt3bXmSTNGw&cad=rja

This is a more indepth guide: http://www.constructionproducts.org...roducts Association Loft Guide March 2010.pdf

Frankly though why don't you employ someone to do you some drawings chances are you're gonna need a structural engineer too.

There's not much you can't find an answer to on this forum though.

Chestercopperpot, we all know that builders and other tradesmen are not really "normal" :D

Sponsored Links
i am more than capable of doing myself but how do i know it conforms to the regs without having the read it?

LOL ... I'm nominating that for the DIYnot contradictory statement of the year award

Do you really think that you are capable if you don't know what to do?

......of the buildings regulations :confused:

Its quite a number of pages long, filled with all sorts of jargon. Just looking at the table of contents makes me want to bury my head in the ground and let the worms eat my eyes out.