How Long Would it Take Tiled Floor to Crack Up After Water Leak?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am currently trying to get insurers to pay out for a water leak from a washing machine that damaged my tiled floor. When the leak initially occurred I noticed water bubbling up from under the tiles. It dried out, and I didn’t immediately detect any damage to the floor.

However, 4 months later, I noted that in the area of the water leak, the tile grout was beginning to crack and 2 tiles have become loose.

The insurers have rejected my claim based on the 4 month delay in spotting/reporting the damage. They are claiming that a more recent water leak has caused the damage (there has been no recent water leak.)

So my question is, how long do you reckon it would take for grout to crack, and tile to become loose after a leak?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
laminateman1010, good evening.

OK up front I work as an Insurance Claims Surveyor, on a freelance basis.

What should have happened during the Insurance Inspection of the Escape of Water event was that the Surveyor, or Loss Adjuster should have tested the floor tiles, OK most moisture meters are not reliable on ceramic tiles, but if you run them over the joints it is possible to get a reading[of some sort?]

Question? do the floor tiles run to the walls? or stop just under the base kick plates? important, because in an escape of water claim the water that has escaped will in effect "dam up" against the floor tiles if the tiles do not go all the way under the units to the wall? The damming up effect will encourage the water to percolate between tile and what ever is below the tiles?

As for your original question, that being time scales between the Escape and tile failure?? a lot will depend on volume of water that has escaped, and what the tiles [see above ref. tile termination] are actually fixed down on, it could be ply. or even hardboard?? there may not be anything, it could be a concrete slab??