How much to charge for painting & Decorating?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, a friends sister has asked me if I am able to do some decorating of her house I have visited her before with her sister and know her small children, this is being done on a friendly basis.
I am not a painting & Decorator by profession but I have converted my parents loft etc.
She has asked me to repaint a couple of rooms, the hallway and landing and some other bits and pieces including the garage door. Most walls are artexed or have heavily textured wall paper.
She will be supplying paint and other consumables.

I was thinking of charging a daily rate?
Any suggestions?

...Thanks...

Sponsored Links
If your discussions with this person so far have not touched on the topic of remuneration for services rendered, my guess is that they're hoping you're willing to work for very little.

This is a delicate situation. I'd say if you're not willing to do it for marginally more than the minimum wage that she could hire the neighbor's kid to paint for, then it would be best to tell her what you feel is a fair amount for all the work that she wants you to do. I say that because NOT discussing money in advance has led to more misunderstandings and broken friendships than going through the awkwardness exercise of discussing it in advance.

I don't think an hourly or daily wage is a good idea. Otherwise, you may get into a discussion over how long it took you to do the work as opposed to how long it should have taken you to do that work. If the total amount for all the work that needs to be done has already been agreed to, then how long it takes you to do it is immaterial.

Thanks for the reply...

The situation is that she would rather have somebody she knows and trusts do the work, probably because she has two very small kids running about the house and cowboy tradesmen have been featured a lot on TV.