How to calculate Gas Load

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello there,
I will be taking on a lease of a shop that will be operating as a takeaway/small restaurant in the UK.

I have been told that not only will the the Gas meter need to be uplifted from U6 to U16, but that the capacity of the incoming pipe into the shop also needs to increased. This unfortunately requires the services of the Utility companies (or national grid)

My requirements for my takeaway equipment is 156KW peak hourly gas load. With that in mind how would I calculate what my Estimated Annual Gas Load in KWh?

Is it as simple as calculating:
156KW * 12 * 360 = 673,920KWh? (where 12 is the estimated number of opening hours per day and 360 is the estimated number of days open per year)

Or is that an over estimation as the equipment will only hit 156KW peak power during certain time of the day?

Apologies in advance if this is an overly entry-level question as I am quite new to this. So any help/advice would appreciated.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Only you can guess what your business is likely to need.

But I would suggest hardly 10-20% of the maximum peak load. Probably far less than that!

Also work out the annual consumption and see what the cost of that is likely to be.

My guess would be that most Indian takeaways probably have gas bills of £4000 to £12,000 and no more than that!

A busy gastro pub I know with 4 cooks in the kitchen used about £12,000 pa. but have converted to electricity and save about 45% of that cost. ( They have about 3 porters/washer ups! ).

You presumably need that info to go on the application form and they use that to calculate the demand on the gas supply etc. Its not very significant to you.

Your calculation of 674,000 kWh pa would cost about £33,000 pa. Since many small cafes and takeaways are trading below the VAT limit it becomes obvious that their typical gas bill cannot be more than about £3000 for them.