1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hub or non Hub System

Discussion in 'Home Automation' started by gimli, 18 Jan 2020.

  1. gimli

    gimli

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all, a little new to the home automation set ups, have a few sonoff switched products running directly of 2.4Ghz wifi controlling lighting and a few plug in wifi switches, all working off Alexa without any issues.

    Have recently updated network to a Unifi Access point, everything still working on home automation and getting full wifi in every area of the house now but we are about to move to a much larger three storey property, so was wondering if we should be focusing on hubs such as hive rather than the single device connecting to Wifi we have now. The new set up will likely have another access point in the new house, so device numbers wont be an issue, but wanted to know which system is more reliable, easier to add too etc.

    If a hub is the best route forward, can anyone recommend one that copes well with multi brand devices, which seems the most cost effective manner rather than being tied into single brand units

    Thanks in advance for support

    Cheers
     
  2. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    14,981
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use Energenie MiHome which has a hub, have not used any direct connect devices, they all need to connect to hub, I have second hub, but never needed to use it. So 4 x TRV's, 3 x double sockets, 1 x 4 way socket extension, 1 x energy monitor, 1 x energy monitor switch combined, and 5 x light switches all on same hub, and the single phone app works them all plus the Nest thermostat. Also the google home app works them all plus the 5 Nest Mini's around the house.

    The down side is the light switches, they do not require a neutral, so limited as to what bulbs will work with them.

    I also have issues with the Nest Mini, have you seen the Santander advert, well Nest mini just like Stan, they will get commands wrong, so switch off sockets you don't want switching off. They are great at streaming music, not so good for working sockets, as yet they can tell me room temperature but do not alter it, don't think I would trust them, like teaching a 5 year old.

    It really depends on what you want the devices to do? With my units I can use PC, phone, tablet or a 10 button remote control, and I have 4 x 10 button remote controls and in the main sockets and lights are controlled with the remote not the phone. I use the remote like a two way switch, so I can switch lights off/on when in bed. I really don't want to control lights with the phone.

    On Wednesday wife phoned me at work, tumble drier would not work, can I switch on socket, same double socket also works outside light and I have it timed so light works 5 pm to 10 pm, don't really want to switch tumble drier socket on/off, but wife had said hay google turn off radio 4, it had replied turning off 5 switches and had turned off tumble drier. Why she could not use her phone to turn it back on I don't know, but easy enough for me to turn back on with phone.

    However would likely be better to remove that socket from the system connected to Nest mini.

    Can't see an advantage using a hub, except when we got nest mini's they imported the controls of everything on hub in one go, as said maybe that is not a good thing? We sit down in the evening with 4 remote's between us, one works cabinet lights, one works main lights and sockets the fan, or AC plugs into, and one the TV and one Sky Q. I could work all from phone, but unless can't find remote, I don't.
     
  3. gimli

    gimli

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Mark and apologies about delay in passing my appreciation on. I get exactly what your saying there with the phone as the main controller, i don't fancy a remote control button option as it would need to be available anywhere in the house at anytime. The hub question initially was
    to see if there was an advantage to using the hub method to cut down on simultaneous network connections (ie each device needing a unique ip preferably static) or to even know if the hub appears as one IP address whilst the devices connected to it are remote from the main IP range! Just wanting to nail this as some work going to be done as soon as we move in and want to take advantage of new cable running options wherever possible. Thanks again
     
  4. SpecialK

    SpecialK

    Joined:
    27 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Home Assistant? Depends how much fiddling you like to do!
    I have a mix of zigbee and wifi devices...
     
  5. Sponsored Links
  6. gimli

    gimli

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh I like to fiddle lol. Main aim keeping wireless traffic to minimum hence hub question. Most heavy traffic is hard wired anyhow on gigabit LAN. I guess what im aiming for is an end product where as much home automation is included where possible (and sensible lol). Also looking at using Adrino add ons where I can to switch certain things like the garage door motors with Alexa (for example) fiddle fiddle fiddle :)
     
  7. SpecialK

    SpecialK

    Joined:
    27 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tasmota etc devices use a minimal amount of traffic. I have about 30 running at the moment - All local - non of this chinese cloud crap...
     
  8. wwwebber

    wwwebber

    Joined:
    5 May 2004
    Messages:
    423
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Samsung Smartthings - runs all of my smart devices across many standards and manufacturers
     
  9. gimli

    gimli

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, will look into both Tasmota and Smartthings. Appreciate the advice all
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page