1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

I can access the internet via powerline from separate metered supply!

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by StephenStephen, 4 Jun 2019.

  1. StephenStephen

    StephenStephen

    Joined:
    1 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    slightly bizarre discovery:

    We have a flat connected to our home with it’s own separate electricity consumer unit, supplied, metered and billed separately.
    I have the router plugged into a powerline (TP-Link) in a power socket in the house.

    I have the computer plugged into the powerline in a power socket in the flat
    I’m getting 24mbps download and 9mbps upload speed in the garden at the end of an extension cable

    Should I be concerned that the signal is crossing from 1 supply to the other? How can it be doing this?

    Any thoughts welcome
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,902
    Thanks Received:
    2,863
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not technically speaking. If the two electrical installations are on the same phase then, although there are no guarantees that it will work, it's perfectly possible that the signal will 'cross' in the manner you describe. It might even 'cross' to other houses further down the street.

    There's a lot to be said against (be 'concerned' about) Powerline-like technology, and maybe this is one of them. Whether you should be 'concerned' about this is is for you to decide.

    Kind Regards, John
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. StephenStephen

    StephenStephen

    Joined:
    1 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks John - I was more concerned from an electrical safety aspect than data security, so you've set my mind to rest. Do you know if (generally speaking) if it works today then there's a good chance it'll work in a few days time?
     
  5. jonbey

    jonbey

    Joined:
    17 May 2012
    Messages:
    5,695
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never knew that was possible. It'd worry me to think that other people could use your internet just by buying an adaptor and trying a few settings... who knows what they'd do on it!
     
  6. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have any social responsibility concerns?
     
  7. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    24,064
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The high frequency that carries the data can be radiated from the cables in one house and be picked up by the cables in another house. The cable effectively act as aerials. The signals go via the air.

    One of the problems with wireless communications.
     
  8. jonbey

    jonbey

    Joined:
    17 May 2012
    Messages:
    5,695
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only if you don't have your wireless password protected. But if you use a powerline, maybe in a block of flats, then there is a chance anybody can access it without a password?
     
  9. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,902
    Thanks Received:
    2,863
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fair enough. There's certainly not an electrical safety issue related to what you have observed.
    There's not going to be any guarantees but, if it works today, the chances are that it always will (unless there are relevant changes to one or other of the electricity installations).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,902
    Thanks Received:
    2,863
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the Powerline is being used as a means of distributing a LAN within a premises, that is on the consumer's side of any password protection of the router, so anyone could probably 'see' the network, without the need for any passwords. Whether it would be possible to actually access computers and other devices connected to the network would depend upon how sharing/security/log-in etc. was configured for those devices.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  12. wgt52

    wgt52

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    824
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's one of the benefits of buying kit designed for use in the USofA! in the USA every house has a 'low pass' filter (the step down transformer 220v to 110v) in the light and electric power sockets electricity feed.
    I guess you are finding your powerline kit is working on the flats power is because the two properties are on the same electric phase - quite common in (granny) flat off a main home.
    It's quite possible to get powerline units to work across several properties on the same phase in housing estates.
     
    Last edited: 4 Jun 2019
  13. davelx

    davelx

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,728
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AIUI the powerline units encrypt the data and you generally buy a pair that are already paired. To add a third unit to be able to link in you have to have access to one of the existing units and set it into key-exchange mode to allow the third unit to learn the encryption key. That should be enough to stop the casual parasitic user!

    edit... it may be that not all units come with the encryption pre-configured, you may have to do it when you set them up. If you don't then they could be wide open, so check the user guide that came with them.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,316
    Thanks Received:
    503
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No different to attaching to your wi-fi signal.
    Just ensure both are passworded!
     
  15. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,227
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What are you talking about?
    The supplies in the US are 240v centre tapped earth. NB NOT 220 or 110v. There are no step down in every house. The supplies come on as 3 wire 120 0 120.
     
  16. JBR

    JBR

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    8,908
    Thanks Received:
    390
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That sounds useful!

    Does that mean they have the option of both 120V and 240V supplies, according to wiring?
     
  17. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes.

    Power-hungry appliances are often 240V.
     
Loading...

Share This Page