Ideal Vogue combi. Range rating, or the lack of ......

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I put my hand up to at least two failings. In fact there any many more than two.
An obvious weaknes is over-thinking things and digging too deep. I have some experience gained over many year with plumbing tools never far away, but things have got quite complicated now compared to my earlier years and I don't understand much of what I read about curves, graphs and set-backs.

If you combine that with a helping of indecisiveness and add the fact that a little knowledge is dangerous then you'll have sympathy and hasten to sort me out.

I WAS going to replace my 28 year old heat-only Ideal Classic (despite the fact it works OK) .... with a new replacement heat only.
But there's just us two and don't generally generally need to use more than one outlet together and am coming round to the idea of something like an Ideal Vogue Gen 2 32kw combi, or a Viessmann 30kw 100-W combi.

I have the benefit of good pressure and flow (4.5 static and 38 litres per min flow). Very soft water.
I have a dedicated 22mm mains cold water supply solely for a new boiler and a new 28mm gas supply solely for the boiler.
Drop Tight Presure reducing valves will be in place on (a) the house cold water system and (b) the exclusive 22mm feed to the boiler.
I realise I could keep the existing boiler. I know combi boilers are the spawn of the Devil. I'm very aware that (with a few exceptions) Worcester and Vaillant are the universal default recommendation.

Some respected contributors here say the 100 Viessmann is complicated, inferor to the 200-W (which is even more complicated) and that spares and installers aren't as ubiquitous as WB or Vaillant, plus are overpriced, insistant on crystal clear system water .... etc etc ....

I gather that Muggles has a few reservations about Intergas nowadays and I'm still not sure about Alpha, Navien or Vokera.