1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Identify this electric underfloor heating thermostat

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by dazzler9000, 2 Feb 2021.

  1. dazzler9000

    dazzler9000

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

    I moved in last year and I've always struggled programming this thermostat. Does anyone have any idea which model it is? I have a similar one in the house which is a Prowarm but this one's different.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    10,437
    Thanks Received:
    2,594
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nothing on the manifold as ufh is normally sold as a package .
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    12,753
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No idea but should be easy enough to replace it
     
  5. dazzler9000

    dazzler9000

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's under a tiled floor. I did unclip the case hoping to find a model number but nothing.
     
  6. dazzler9000

    dazzler9000

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can I just replace for any then? Any guidance as to what's a good one to go for?
     
  7. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    12,753
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Heatmiser Carbon-E is quite nice.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. dazzler9000

    dazzler9000

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I have Heatmiser elsewhere, so I'll take a look. So, can somebody just confirm that these are interchangeable with the electric UFH?
     
  9. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,552
    Thanks Received:
    7,994
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. dazzler9000

    dazzler9000

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Excellent, I'm planning on making my Heatmiser wet UFH smart in the summer, so this will presumably hook into that nicely.

    Just done a bit if further reading and it's been suggested that swapping a thermostat for another might not be straight forward. Can anyone advise?

    Thanks everyone.
     
    Last edited: 2 Feb 2021
  12. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,546
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depending upon the type of electric UFH installation you have and its method of installation, the thermostat may have to switch quite a heavy current. On the other hand wet UFH is controlled by a electric valves so won't draw a lot of current. As a result wet UFH thermostats may only be rated for 3A.

    I would start by finding out the current rating of the existing thermostat. It should be on it somewhere along with the wiring connection details. If you can provide details about what you have already someone will probably be able to recommend a suitable replacement.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. dazzler9000

    dazzler9000

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I'll take a look tomorrow and see what I can find out.
     
  14. dazzler9000

    dazzler9000

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last edited: 3 Feb 2021
  15. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,552
    Thanks Received:
    7,994
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think if you want to use the heatmiser you will need to change all the floor probes
     
  16. dazzler9000

    dazzler9000

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, what does that entail (tiled floor)?
     
    Last edited: 3 Feb 2021
  17. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,552
    Thanks Received:
    7,994
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    they are normally just pushed into a small duct inside the screed
     
Loading...

Share This Page